Railroad Forums 

• Gateway clears it's last Federal approval

• Discussion related to Amtrak also known as the National Railroad Passenger Corp.
Discussion related to Amtrak also known as the National Railroad Passenger Corp.

Moderators: GirlOnTheTrain, mtuandrew, Tadman

#1589707  by photobug56

I've read numerous articles in NYDN on this over the last few years. They want 2 things as far as I can tell. 1. Start substantial repairs to the existing Hudson tunnels now, same way TA did their tunnels. If it it worked for TA, it ought to work for Amtrak. 2. They believe that the Portal bridges are going to be built as expensively as possible short of gold plating them, that the plans are to spend like 10 times as much as needed. Now I'm not an engineer, but if they are right, this is sucking up BILLIONS beyond what is needed. Add that to the fancy and expensive plans for Penn South and many BILLIONS will get wasted. I'd ask railroads like BNSF and UP how they would do Portal - their record of doing major projects at a reasonable cost suggests they might find ways to do it well and in an economical manner.

Beyond that, someone needs to put a stop to the Cuomo Hochul real estate grab around Penn, including not tearing down historic buildings, building office towers that no one needs, displacing services for the homeless. Concentrate on doing upgrades and repairs that are needed. Eliminate plans meant for pocket lining.
 #1589795  by Pensyfan19

Dcell wrote: Wed Jan 19, 2022 3:23 pm Rehab the existing tunnels first, let's see if Gov Hochul goes for it.
Not likely. The whole point of Gateway is to have two tunnels (and therefore two tracks) for the Northeast Corridor while the existing two tunnels are rehabbed. One couldn't begin to imagine the horrors of a single tracked bottleneck anywhere on the precious Northeast Corridor (for Amtrak and NJT).
 #1589822  by photobug56