Railroad Forums 

• Empire Tunnel in PA

• Pertaining to all railroading subjects, past and present, in Pennsylvania
Pertaining to all railroading subjects, past and present, in Pennsylvania

Moderator: bwparker1

#225725  by Malley

Noob here; looks like a great forum.
Quick question; we hiked back to Empire Tunnel on the B&P southwest of Ridgeway. At Carmen, the line turns back southeast and runs along the west side of Toby Creek. There is an abandoned Pennsy line on the east side of the creek; it is now a bike trail.
In any case, we saw the piers of a high bridge running over the active line and crossing the creek in the direction of the abandoned one. The angles are such that it has to be a rr bridge; the piers run NW-SE across the fairly substantial creek.
There are also abandoned railbeds on the west side of the creek (between live line and water), and an old map shows an interchange between lines south of Carmen. The current alignment shows signs of moving the creek to reduce the curvature.
My question- anybody know what went on in that stretch? What was the bridge about?
BTW, the rails look well used and maintained on the live line, and we saw a mixed freight.
Thanks in advance,
Malley

#226143  by Nicolai3985

Welcome to the Railroad.net forums, Malley.

That bridge might have been what carried the Clarion River Railway over the creek to interchange with the PRR. The 1900 PRR CT1000 lists an interchange with this railroad at about the right spot. That would also explain the third ROW that you saw between the B&P and the creek - it would have brought the CRRy to the bridge from its interchange with the BR&P at Carman.

Neither the 1945 CT1000 nor the 1943 USGS topo maps have the interchange or bridge listed (respectively).

-Nick

#226324  by Malley

Nicolai3985 wrote:Welcome to the Railroad.net forums, Malley.