Railroad Forums 

• When to spot at Rigby Yard

• Guilford Rail System changed its name to Pan Am Railways in 2006. Discussion relating to the current operations of the Boston & Maine, the Maine Central, and the Springfield Terminal railroads (as well as the Delaware & Hudson while it was under Guilford control until 1988). Official site can be found here: PANAMRAILWAYS.COM.
Guilford Rail System changed its name to Pan Am Railways in 2006. Discussion relating to the current operations of the Boston & Maine, the Maine Central, and the Springfield Terminal railroads (as well as the Delaware & Hudson while it was under Guilford control until 1988). Official site can be found here: PANAMRAILWAYS.COM.

Moderator: MEC407

#1223390  by CN9634

pfnd wrote:Total newbie question, I'm sure. But that's fitting since I'm a newbie and this is my first post. I searched the forum for this information and didn't find it. I apologize if it's been gone over.

If I'm going to Rigby yard, is there a way I can figure out a good time to go and actually see a decent amount of train activity? Is there a schedule or anything? I'm looking to take someone over on a Saturday or a Sunday but I don't want to not see anything.

Also, aside from the small spot on route 1 overlooking the yard, can you also go down into Rigby Storage's parking area? That looks like it would be a good vantage point but also not on RR property.

Thanks for any tips on spotting there!
Welcome to the Forum!

Unfortunately, due to some Trespassing Violations by certain 'railfans', the parking lot is off limits to non-employees. That isn't to say people do not go there anymore, but it is at your own risk. In all honesty, the places outside of the yard are your best spots for trains. Pretty much, keep a scanner handy and be prepared to move between Winnock's Neck, Veteran's bridge and Read Street.

Pretty much here is a break down.

Morning you will see some inbound freights. POED and SJPO or WAPO.