Railroad Forums 

• Should GO take over Niagara Falls-Toronto service?

• Pertaining to all railroading subjects, past and present, in Canada. For specific railroad questions, see Fallen Flags and Active Railroads categories.
Pertaining to all railroading subjects, past and present, in Canada. For specific railroad questions, see Fallen Flags and Active Railroads categories.

Moderator: Ken V

#96579  by MACTRAXX

Guys: My name is MACTRAXX and I am new to RR.net. I have traveled alot by train and one of my favorite cities is Toronto. I traveled up there alot in the 80s and I took the NFS-TOR day RT last in 1998. From what I know about VIA and GO and Southern Ontario geography, I think that GO should take over the Niagara Falls train service. VIA would continue to operate the Maple Leaf to NYC but other rail service would be operated by GO.

From CN timetables that I have,the distance between NFS and TOR is 84 miles - about the same as long-distance commuter operations on MNCR(GCT-WASSAIC-82 miles) the LIRR(Montauk and Greenport Lines which are 114 and 94 miles) and CDOT (GCT-WATERBURY 88 miles). The VIA train as it is today reminds me of trains on Amtrak's Harrisburg-Philadelphia Keystone Service(104 miles).

This new GO service would operate on average every two hours and operate more frequently during peak hours. I can see new stations being added perhaps around Merritton,Jordan,Beamsville and the eastern outskirts of Hamilton. The big problem spot is serving Hamilton: Do you re-open a station just for this line at the old CNR station? I know about the re-routing to the TH&B station - I thought this was a good move as it is closer to downtown HML.