Railroad Forums 

• Turntables

• General discussion about railroad operations, related facilities, maps, and other resources.
General discussion about railroad operations, related facilities, maps, and other resources.

Moderator: Robert Paniagua

#28715  by Geologist

I am an environmental consultant, and have discovered that a site I am working on was once the location of a turntable. The source of the discovery is a USGS topo map and aerial photos dated 1947 and 1955. According to the map, the turntable had a single "side rail" leading to it, that branched from a single track that served an industrial area in Everett, Washington. No roundhouse is indicated on the map. An old photo that I believe was taken in the immediate vicinity of the turntable shows three small single story wooden buildings, all less than 1,000 square feet in area. It appears that the turntable was demolished sometime in about the 1960's. The former location of the turntable is now covered by a warehouse.

I am completely ignorant of railroad operations. I was hoping someone here could tell me what turntables are (or were) used for, other than turning engines around. Does this sound like some kind of maintenance facility? Does the lack of a roundhouse mean anything?

On the off chance that anybody knows of this turntable, it was located near the intersection of 36TH Street and McDougall Avenue.

Thanks in advance for any help!

#28743  by LCJ

Turntables were (are) often used for merely turning locomotives. They also served (serve) as a means to get locomotives in and out of stalls in a roundhouse, or on or off of stub tracks used for temporary storage of locomotives.

Here's a link to an old turntable/roundhouse picture:

http://205.214.89.196/discus/messages/9 ... 1017549717

#32241  by ACLfan