Railroad Forums 

• Remembering the Boeings

• Discussion relating to commuter rail, light rail, and subway operations of the MBTA.
Discussion relating to commuter rail, light rail, and subway operations of the MBTA.

Moderators: sery2831, CRail

#1414724  by BigUglyCat

As suggested by F-Line, I'm interested in starting.

I was a student at Wentworth Institute about 40 years ago. I have never forgotten the afternoon I was descending the stairs at Kenmore Station, and heard what sounded like a truck horn in the tunnel. Wow, could it be? I hustled down the stairs in time to watch a Boeing roll into the station, with destination X INSTRUCTION CAR! Yowzah!

After that, I became a Boeing snob, letting PCC's pass by, waiting for the new thing!

I had already once gone out to Riverside, wading in snow to get photographs of the new cars for the NATTA's Trolley Coach News. (Whatever happened to the NATTA?)

John, if you approve, please add in anything re: Boeing that you think appropriate.

And thank you, F-Line, for getting me off my butt!
 #1414856  by jbvb

Riding PCCs in hot weather, I either stood under a ceiling fan or walked back to the rear where I could slide one of the side windows open and catch a breeze. The LRV A/C was a change (when it was working right); I'd either ride in the articulation joint or up front where I could look over the motorman's shoulder. But the original factory doors...
 #1415160  by Adams_Umass_Boston

I liked them too. They sure were beat at the end though. Real rough.

I posted this in the other thread, but will add it here too. Its a vintage ad for the Boeings.
greenline1.jpg
 #1415164  by BigUglyCat