Railroad Forums 

• Will BNSF hire someone with a DUI for a telecom tech job?

• General discussion about working in the railroad industry. Industry employers are welcome to post openings here.
General discussion about working in the railroad industry. Industry employers are welcome to post openings here.

Moderator: thebigc

#912241  by TelecomTech

I was wondering if BNSF hires anyone with a DUI on their driving record for any position? I'm a telecom technician looking to work for BNSF as a telecom tech but I'm wondering if I'm wasting my time because I have a DUI on my driving record. The reason that I'm asking for information is because I have a job offer from another company that pays half of what BNSF would pay. Thus I would rather work for BNSF and I would not want to start employment with the other company and then have to quit on them to work with BNSF.
BNSF has posted a Telecom Tech job on their website and they say the ad will end in a week. Reading the forums, BNSF will take 2-6 weeks to contact you for an interview. Also reading the forums I see that no one thinks you will get hired if you have a DUI but on the BNSF online application when you disclose that you have a DUI on your driving record the application doesn't automatically state that you are disqualified? Since being unemployed for almost a year and applying to many companies I've found only one company that automatically disqualifies you from the process when you enter such information. I think its good business to let candidates know immediately what facts automatically disqualify you from employment with their company. It allows candidates and employers to not waste each others time and streamline the process.
Understanding that every human resource department is different and I probably just have to wait and see what happens. But does anyone have any real life experience or similar situation regarding getting hired or disqualified from BNSF because of a DUI?
Thanks in advance...