Railroad Forums 

• train yards around new haven

• Pertaining to all railroading subjects, past and present, in New England
Pertaining to all railroading subjects, past and present, in New England

Moderators: MEC407, NHN503

#72930  by anthony.acock

Hello,

I'm new to railroad.net, and new to connecticut as well. I am looking for active train yards, preferably freight trains, but passenger trains are ok as well. I'm a proffesional photographer, and am looking for a place to take pictures of trains.

best regards,

anthony acock

#73031  by krispy

Welcome to the area, but first a note of caution - due to the attack several years ago, the atmosphere towards folks taking pics of trains has changed dramatically. I don't know where you're from, but in the northeast things are changed for the worse for railfans taking pics. It doesn't matter if you're on public property or not taking that pic, rail employees are compelled to turn you in, all law enforcement are compelled to check you out, and depending where you are, turn you away. Please don't take it personally, and don't try to argue with them either. There are a lot of spots around NH to take pics, hopefully someone can point out the safe ones. My personal favorites are in parks adjoining railroads, an example is the old trolley r.o.w. from East Branford into Stony Creek, you get glimpses of the Shoreline and BSR. Pay a visit to the trolley museum in E. Haven, you'll meet lots of retirees and folks who can give you the scoop on the area.

There are indeed several yards in and around NH, but do to an annoying TV news crew incident in Bridgeport several months ago, you will be talking to a cop fairly quickly if you're too close. Ask around, and you'll find out the new spots...

#73073  by shadyjay