Railroad Forums 

• Wildfire along Coast Starlight service suspended SAC-KFS 6/29/21-7/1/21 (possibly longer)

• Discussion related to Amtrak also known as the National Railroad Passenger Corp.
Discussion related to Amtrak also known as the National Railroad Passenger Corp.

Moderators: GirlOnTheTrain, mtuandrew, Tadman

#1575629  by David Benton

I can see both sides to this argument. As a business owner i would generally try and wait until I have a solution before informing a customer of bad news.
As a customer / passenger , I would want to know straight away, but again The first question is hat are you doing about it .
 #1575645  by eolesen

danib62 wrote:Man I really hope genius thinking like yours isn’t actually running Amtrak. Let’s withhold info from our passengers so they can’t make alternative plans. Great customer service there.
Hey, not my rules. It's just the harsh reality that call centers have only so much capacity, and nobody knows exactly how long repairs will take. If it were me, I'd be embargoing the service for a month out.

Besides, nobody is hiding info or stopping you from rebooking. They're just making a business decision not to reach out to you immediately, just in case the situation improves.

Bottom line is you bought a ticket to get from A to B with no guarantee to be ontime. If they substitute a bus connection mid-journey they met their obligation...

Sent from my SM-G981U using Tapatalk

#1575656  by eolesen

It's government run rail. Don't hold your breath waiting... I know my airline would have already contacted you with alternatives if it's within two weeks.

#1575658  by Gilbert B Norman

I think Mr. Dani is best advised to become "pro active". If he does not wish to ride a bus overnight through the embargoed area, and I guarantee you I wouldn't, time to take the initiative and book a flight.