Railroad Forums 

• NYS V&T 397 story

• Discussion related to railroad radio frequencies, railroad communication practices, equipment, and more.
Discussion related to railroad radio frequencies, railroad communication practices, equipment, and more.

Moderator: Aa3rt

#520985  by EdM

I found this on an old disk and thought some might be interested...

Stories about Sect 397 of the NY State Vehicle and Traffic Law

The NYS Vehicle and traffic law, sect 397 makes installing (equipping) a motor vehicle with a radio capable of receiving police frequencies, or using a vehicle so equipt,.a misdemeanor.

I
The following is a result of either hearsay or conjecture on my part, I have no first hand knowledge. The hearsay comes from various written accounts on the internet which was wild with the story at the time.
About 0200 hrs sometime in the spring of 2003, a New York State trooper made a routine traffic stop, reason unknown. It was probably speeding or erratic driving, for at that hour of the morning, police officers know that there is no such thing as a ‘routine” traffic stop. It is assumed that the vehicle stopped had out of state plates, but not known.
The individual stopped had an amateur radio license from somewhere down south, and was not a New York state resident. He was given a summons for violation of the NYS Vehicle and Traffic Law, section 397, a misdemeanor (not a violation).
From what reportedly occurred later, we can assume that he did not accept the summons graciously.
The individual appeared in court at the appointed time without legal representation. This apparently was just the local traffic court.

1. The individual was called LAST. (strike one)
2. After being called, the court clerk spoke with the judge. Reason unknown, but out of the hearing of the individual. (strike two)