Railroad Forums 

• Nova Scotia Inquiry

• Pertaining to all railroading subjects, past and present, in Canada. For specific railroad questions, see Fallen Flags and Active Railroads categories.
Pertaining to all railroading subjects, past and present, in Canada. For specific railroad questions, see Fallen Flags and Active Railroads categories.

Moderator: Ken V

#46695  by SnoozerZ49

Good Day:

I have a very obscure question to ask. I am searching for a "Trains" magazine article that I believe was written in the 1980's regarding CN operations on a branch line between Bridgewater, Nova Scotia and Digby, Nova Scotia. My mother came from a village along the line and the well written article would be a welcome addition to the collection of information that I am trying to assemble.

Any information would be greatly appreciated.

Joe

#48852  by Highball

:P Joe,

Good News..... After an " exhaustive " search of my magazine collection ( that's o.k., gave me the opportunity to finally organize things in my garage ), I found the Trains magazine that featured CN's operation of the Bridgewater-Middleton, Nova Scotia branchline. I recall reading the article last year, so that is why I knew it was " out " there.

The April 1977 issue story of the operation is titled " Conceived of Cannibalism "....... referring to the locomotives that worked this particular CN branch at the time the story's author visited the operation, the autumn of 1975.

The units were MLW RSC24'S and only four were built, in 1959, road numbers being 1800 to 1803. By mid May, 1976, the last unit was retired.

CN produced another class of locomotive in 1975-1976 that served the Bridgewater branch and other Maritime Province branchlines until the late 1980's..... the MR-14 Class, Road #'s being 1750 to 1787.