Railroad Forums 

• New product idea- Passenger Rail Vehicle Safety Nets

• General discussion of passenger rail systems not otherwise covered in the specific forums in this category, including high speed rail.
General discussion of passenger rail systems not otherwise covered in the specific forums in this category, including high speed rail.

Moderators: mtuandrew, gprimr1

#1559111  by cododd

Hey everyone!

I'm currently a research engineer developing safety systems. Right now I work on autonomous cars but I research a lot of areas. One pending patent I have is for a type of safety netting designed for transit systems. The idea is to use a simple, retrofittable netting kit that would prevent death, (though not necessarily injury), from people falling on tracks ahead of trains. The target would be to try and reduce deaths on transit systems that might be cost-strapped or unable to do things like platform-edge doors.

The reason I'm reaching out to all you guys is that I'm an automotive engineer, I've got no experience or contacts in rail, and there still is a lot of research I need to do; from ascertaining if anyone would even want this, to figuring out if there is even a way to fit it on current equipment without having clearence problems. So I thought I'd ping the community for wisdom!

What do you guys think, and where would you suggest I go to to try and get more industry information, is the FRA a useful place to go? What about transit agencies or safety nonprofits? Any help the community could give to point me in a right direction would be great for an outsider like me!
Attachments:
(853.18 KiB) Downloaded 133 times
 #1559138  by jwhite07

Your idea is not new... very not new!! "Safety fenders" of different designs were very common accessories on streetcars in the late 1800s and early 1900s: