Railroad Forums 

• Looking to get into the biz

• General discussion about working in the railroad industry. Industry employers are welcome to post openings here.
General discussion about working in the railroad industry. Industry employers are welcome to post openings here.

Moderator: thebigc

#7300  by train newbee

Hi Everybody,
This is a great forum. I am interested in getting into the LIRR as an AC. I was wondering what I should know about it before I jump in. Pay, Uniforms, benefits, time off, schedules, training, and things like that.
Thanks in advance.

#13194  by RYAN

Hi there,

I'm new to RR.net and was wondering the same thing. I've heard that it takes years to get good schedules and you'll be working weekends and late nights for at least 5 years maybe more before you can get the good shifts. I also heard the training program is grueling and it's 4 months long with no pay. I'm hoping to hear back from those in the know how. I commute every day but I hate my current job (although it is 9-5 M-F). But that's the only thing I'd miss about it if I left. Any feedback would be fantastic. Thanks in advance for the help

Ryan
 #13782  by slchub