Railroad Forums 

• Is it important to have qualified people doing track work and inspections?

• Discussion relating to commuter rail, light rail, and subway operations of the MBTA.
Discussion relating to commuter rail, light rail, and subway operations of the MBTA.

Moderators: sery2831, CRail

#1628739  by Rbts Stn

I'm no Transit Professional, but I'd think those were important responsibilities. But according to the Globe, the MBTA disagrees with me: https://www.bostonglobe.com/2023/09/07/ ... r_Headline
MBTA workers responsible for checking subway infrastructure for defects either didn’t understand their responsibilities or didn’t fulfill them and, as a result, missed dangerous problems on vast swaths of the subway as recently as March, according to a new report.

The review, commissioned by the T after the agency implemented more than 100 new speed restrictions across the system earlier this year, also found that many workers in charge of inspecting the system’s tracks don’t have enough experience or training.

The new speed restrictions suddenly slowed down commutes for hundreds of thousands of people in the Boston region, deepening dissatisfaction with the state’s largest transit system. The report, together with an analysis from the T’s own safety department, offers riders a new view of the beleaguered agency’s dysfunction that has created such extra-painful commutes in recent months.
I'd like to assume someone(s) will lose their jobs because of this but I know better.
 #1628746  by jbvb