Railroad Forums 

• Harrisburg area train watching

• Pertaining to all railroading subjects, past and present, in Pennsylvania
Pertaining to all railroading subjects, past and present, in Pennsylvania

Moderator: bwparker1

#1129903  by Missyg24

I'll be in Harrisburg in two weeks. Im new to train watching there. Usually do Altoona-Cassandra area.
Is the area busy?
Even on Saturdays?
Best spots to get trains from Duncannon-Enola.
 #1131134  by lvrr325

There is always something moving in Enola. I drove through in early October total pot-luck and took several pictures, and caught a train coming at me just above town too. 11 is super busy, though, best to pick a spot and stay there for a while.
 #1132341  by CNJ Fan 4evr

Go north to Marysville. At the light take a left and then go under 11/15 and follow that down to boat ramp right next to Rockville bridge. GREAT spot and busy too. I got 5 trains in under an hour. Only reason I left was because it rained.Saw Wabash unit at south end of Enola. Nowhere to stop to get a shot of it. Old BN green unit there too. Saw a string of former UP SD's with what looked like NS style numbers under windows at north end. There is a parking area right near where the north hump is. Saw a little action there before moving on.
I want to get some action in Harrisburg. The big bridges going across Susque are one place I'd like to go. I see a station as I drive south on I-83. I want to check that out too.
 #1132547  by lvrr325

The former UP, ex-CN&W SD50s have been there for at least four months; they do have NS numbers, and are rebuild fodder but did see service for a while.
 #1133448  by Missyg24

thanks guys.
im staying at the Bridgeview B&B with my fiance.
how do i get to enola yard exactly?
i seen trains from Rockville town side and from along 322 (north side).

also wheres the best place to get Lady Liberty in the SusieQ (your opinion)
 #1133510  by charlie6017

Hey Missy,