Railroad Forums 

• handheld antenna help

• Discussion related to railroad radio frequencies, railroad communication practices, equipment, and more.
Discussion related to railroad radio frequencies, railroad communication practices, equipment, and more.

Moderator: Aa3rt

#324741  by nep84

please.

I'm new to scanners and I'm not well informed on the features. I have a radio shack pro-97 scanner.

I'm looking for an antenna that I can buy that will expand my range.

I use the scanner at trackside primarily. I keep hearing that a better antenna will increase my scanner's range. However I'm a little ignorant on the subject. I've tried to read some of the posts here, and I've been to a couple of the sites listed. But I keep running into the wall of what I don't know. I don't know if the antenna will plug into my scanner, and I'm afraid to spend money on an antenna that won't increase the range.

Would someone please give me the model number and manufacturer of a good antenna that will fit into my scanner and give me better range.

I need to send it to Santa :)

Thanks for the help in advance folks.

#325137  by clearblock

Don't expect great range from a handheld scanner. It is true that some stock scanner antennas do not perform well on the RR frequencies. In this case, a better quality antenna such as the Austin Condor may give some improvement:

http://www.grove-ent.com/ANT14.html

I don't know about the Pro97, but my experience with most Radio Shack scanners is the stock antenna works reasonably well so don't expect a dramatic improvement.

Avoid the idea of using any kind of long rigid antenna or any antenna that requires an adaptor to connect to your scanner. I have seen way too many scanners and portable 2way radios with broken antenna connectors from the stress on the conector caused by an oversized or rigid antenna.