Railroad Forums 

• Engineer to conductor radio frequencies?

• Discussion related to railroad radio frequencies, railroad communication practices, equipment, and more.
Discussion related to railroad radio frequencies, railroad communication practices, equipment, and more.

Moderator: Aa3rt

#533271  by Tracer

I'm a rookie when it comes to railroad frequencies, so i am still learning.

When freight crews are switching an industrial park or a customer, obviously the engineer uses a radio to talk to the guy throwing the switches and uncoupling the cars.

1. Do crews talk to each other useing one of the standard RR channels?(i am assuming no)

2.If not, are these frenquencies avaliable? (namley csx in the boston area)

Thanks!
 #533557  by GOLDEN-ARM

Triker wrote:I'm a rookie...

1. Do crews talk to each other......

2.If not, are these frenquencies avaliable?
1. Yes, they do talk to each other, on a regular radio channel

2. Yes, these freqs are available. try looking here: FREQS

#533634  by Tracer

So would crews (conduter to engineer) typicaly switch to a yard channel when sorting and placing cars for a customer as opposed to useing the lines main dispatch channel?

#533668  by GOLDEN-ARM