Railroad Forums 

• Does MM&A Serve Fraser Paper at Madawaska?

• Discussion of present-day CM&Q operations, as well as discussion of predecessors Montreal, Maine & Atlantic Railway (MMA) and Bangor & Aroostook Railroad (BAR).
Discussion of present-day CM&Q operations, as well as discussion of predecessors Montreal, Maine & Atlantic Railway (MMA) and Bangor & Aroostook Railroad (BAR).

Moderator: MEC407

#287506  by umtrr-author

Hi all... I usually don't venture to this part of the board but I have a specific question related to a pending Micro-Trains Line model freight car release in N Scale. I am the author of the Unofficial Micro-Trains Release Report, a review and commentary on the MTL releases I've been writing since 1996. Once in a while I get stumped on a key detail item, and this is one of those times.

The release in question is a 50 foot boxcar for the BAR painted with a Fraser Paper logo on the right side. The only prototype picture I have found notes that "The Bangor & Aroostook painted this 50' box car in the hopes to gain Fraser Papers business. It didn't work." The photo is at this direct link on NERail:

http://photos.nerail.org/showpic/?photo ... _Aroostook

However, in continuing my research, I located a filing with the STB that the MM&A filed to terminate the trackage rights of the CN into Madawaska, where the CN was serving (apparently) Fraser Paper. What I don't know is what the outcome of that October 2003 filing was, if there was one.

Elsewhere on this board there is a north to south listing of the MM&A customers, and Fraser is on that list, although the CN is still shown as having the trackage rights into Madawaska (I guess I answered my own question above?).

So, in short, I'm confused. Did or does Fraser Paper use the MM&A?

Thanks in advance for any help!

#287725  by douellet