Railroad Forums 

• Aldene Plan - Montclair Connection

• Pertaining to all railroading subjects, past and present, in New Jersey
Pertaining to all railroading subjects, past and present, in New Jersey

Moderator: David

#122737  by CGRLCDR

Okay - get out the crystal ball everybody.

I'm fairly new to New Jersey and rail-fanning, but my general sense is that most people think the Aldene Plan was a boondoggle and a major mistake for all the reasons listed over on the CNJ forum. Will railfans 25 years from now look back on the Montclair Connection in the same light?

#122843  by pdman

Aldene Plan's long term effects:

I haven't lived in North Jersey since the late 60s, but I remember Westfield, Fanwood, Scotch Plains, etc. being statusy and posh areas for a big lower Manhattan commuter crowd (typically financial types, attorneys, etc.). These were big CNJ commuters.

Question: are these areas still they way they were with commuters? Is the housing market the same as I described?

#122850  by nick11a

pdman wrote:Aldene Plan's long term effects:

I haven't lived in North Jersey since the late 60s, but I remember Westfield, Fanwood, Scotch Plains, etc. being statusy and posh areas for a big lower Manhattan commuter crowd (typically financial types, attorneys, etc.). These were big CNJ commuters.

Question: are these areas still they way they were with commuters? Is the housing market the same as I described?
Yeah, it is still "posh" for the most part. With Westfield though, on one side of the tracks, it is very posh, and the other side of the tracks it is less posh.

#122966  by Sirsonic

The only people who think the Aldene plan was a mistake are train buffs who miss seeing the choo-choo going through Elizabeth.