Railroad Forums 

• 0 Track Thurlow Yard near Hook Tower

• Pertaining to all railroading subjects, past and present, in Pennsylvania
Pertaining to all railroading subjects, past and present, in Pennsylvania

Moderator: bwparker1

#479908  by krupa1020

I was by the 0 track at old Thurlow Yard near Hook Tower in Chester, PA yesterday. They have 0 track out of service and it looks like they are rebuilding the yard in that area. A lot of new track with switches being put in. Anyone know what they are putting in?

The area is north of Hook Tower located between Hook Interlocking and Highland Ave switch. 0 track is used by the NS to get into Stoney Creek Yard.

#480319  by BuddSilverliner269

me being a SEPTA RRD engineer I go by that area every night on my run to Wilmington and I too have noticed this work and wondered about it.I cant rally see what they are doing. I did see them clearing out the yard near the end of summer and it does indeed seem as though theres plenty of track they will be relaying. Im guessing Stoney Creek yard in Marcus hook is overflowing or the other guess is the way the Linwood Branch from Stoney Creek Yard to Hook interlocking is arranged, NS trains shove out of Stoney Creek to Hook so Im guessing that when they get all this work done they will always run engine first and run around the train at the "new" Thurlow Yard. The "0" tracks comes into 1 at Highland Avenue but knowing CTEC 4 permission isnt granted that easily to have the engine runaround the train. Just a thought I guess...

#480404  by krupa1020

I think Stoney Creek uses the old Wanamaker Yard in Essington as an overflow yard. I do understand and think it is a good move if they put in a run around track. But the work they are doing is more then that. They are putting in, from what it looks like, a whole new yard. I can't think of what they are putting in.

#480661  by BuddSilverliner269