Railroad Forums 

• The Type 8 Discussion to End All Discussions(Type 8 tracker)

• Discussion relating to commuter rail, light rail, and subway operations of the MBTA.
Discussion relating to commuter rail, light rail, and subway operations of the MBTA.

Moderators: sery2831, CRail

#556814  by MBTA3247

diburning wrote:The vandal proof seats were installed on some of the type 6's but were later converted back to the plastic ones.
That must have been quite a feat to accomplish. :wink:
 #556821  by lockt87

geoff2 wrote:How're those Type 8's on the D-Line coming along, by the way? I moved out of Boston a few weeks ago, so I have no first-hand knowledge. All I know is they're 7 months late, and counting...
As far as I know they're going nowhere. I just don't think they're ever going to put the 8s into service on the D. I'm sure the MBTA has a whole pile of useless excuses why they didn't release them for service nearly 8 months ago like they said. I just foresee them putting it off longer and longer, they'll still have those old bucket 7s puttering around for another 30 years.
 #556861  by dieciduej

My understanding was that the Mass DPU has to sign-off on the release. Which they haven't done yet. Slightly OT the DPU kept asking for more testing on the Orange Line ATO on the Northside delaying that project.

JoeD
 #556880  by danib62

diburning wrote:The vandal proof seats were installed on some of the type 6's but were later converted back to the plastic ones.
So they went up to seashore and changed the seats on a wooden mock-up that never made it to production? That really does seem like a waste to me :-D .
 #556996  by lockt87

dieciduej wrote:My understanding was that the Mass DPU has to sign-off on the release. Which they haven't done yet. Slightly OT the DPU kept asking for more testing on the Orange Line ATO on the Northside delaying that project.

JoeD