Railroad Forums 

• Questions about UP Train Crews working out of Bakersfield

• Discussion about the Union Pacific operations past and present. Official site can be found here: UPRR.COM.
Discussion about the Union Pacific operations past and present. Official site can be found here: UPRR.COM.

Moderator: GOLDEN-ARM

#1256172  by MichaelB86

Hi guys. First post. I apologize if this should be in the employment section, my question pertains more to the territory on which the work is done, rather than the job itself. But I'm no expert.

I've recently been given a conditional offer for Train Crew in Bakersfield. During the hiring session I was told that this particular position would generally work from Bakersfield to West Colton. But looking at the territory, I've noticed that the line from Bakersfield over Tehachapi forks and one end goes to Los Angeles while the other goes to West Colton. Is the Bakersfield/Los Angeles portion an entirely different district? I know I would be apart of the Roseville service Unit, so I assume I would travel and work withing those confines but West Colton is apart of the Los Angeles service Unit. So apparently THAT doesn't matter? Does the Service Unit only dictate where one works? Thus travel between two different service unit doesn't matter? I originally figured crews out of Bakersfield would travel either North to Fresno, or South to LA or Colton. If that isn't true, then what determines who goes where?
 #1259115  by karldotcom