Railroad Forums 

• NJT restricting access to onboard restrooms?

• Discussion related to New Jersey Transit rail and light rail operations.
Discussion related to New Jersey Transit rail and light rail operations.

Moderators: lensovet, Kaback9, nick11a

#1588084  by Literalman

Traveling from New York to Long Branch on Dec. 27, my wife and I couldn't use the NJT restrooms in Penn Station because they were being cleaned. On board the train, the first two cars, which included the restroom, were blocked off. A conductor said we could request access, but only one person at a time was permitted into the cab coach. I told her I had been riding the coast line for 50 years and asked what was going on. She shrugged.

It reminded me of the security theater we watched for years after Sep. 11, 2001. Now what? Only one terrorist at a time in the cab car? The NJT web page "Covid-19: How We're Protecting You" (https://www.njtransit.com/covid19) doesn't say anything about protecting passengers by not letting us use the restrooms. Is it to reduce passenger fatalities in case of a collision? Is it just to add to passengers' misery? I might have enjoyed the trip if not for this latest stunt by NJT.
 #1588108  by andrewjw

Most likely the number of crew available to run trains was too low to crew the whole train due to COVID. (They have to have a certain number of conductors + assistant conductors per car open.) The decision to block off the first two cars instead of the last two is very strange - my hypothesis is this was an error by crew who didn't consider the restrooms, not an instruction from above, and that letting people go up front one at a time into a carriage that was uncrewed was technically a rules violation.

Not an expert.

There are several other restrooms in Penn Station FYI.
 #1588142  by Literalman