Railroad Forums 

Discussion related to commuter rail and rapid transit operations in the Chicago area including the South Shore Line, Metra Rail, and Chicago Transit Authority.

Moderators: metraRI, JamesT4

#143760  by Amtrak31

I was railfanning at Joliet Union Station yesterday taking photos. I was there to watch the fireworks. I've been photographing trains there for over six years. Everything was going fine until the Metra Sgt approached me. My six year old cousin was besides me. He saw that I was taking photos, and detained me and my cousin. He took us over to my parents who were sitting about 20 feet from us. He said we weren't allowed to take photos, and asked to see my dad's licence so he could run it. We are very good friends with the security guard. Since we knew him, the Sgt didn't run the licence. The Sgt said because of 9/11, we weren't allowed to take photos at the station. That was never a rule before. I think he's using 9/11 as an excuse to yell at innocent people.

#143762  by AmtrakFan

I would write to Metra about this and put an editorial in the paper.
 #143763  by Amtrak31

That's a good idea. In TRAINS Magazine, Metra said they don't have a problem with railfans photographing their trains. I guess the Sgt didn't know that. :( Thanks for your suggestions, John.

#143764  by metraRI

AmtrakFan wrote:I would write to Metra about this and put an editorial in the paper.
That has all ready been done and Metra has clearly stated that taking photos of their locomotives, bilevels, stations, etc. is not against any of their policies, even if it was July 3rd.
 #143766  by Amtrak31

I'm going to have to carry my TRAINS Magazine article with me now, saying it's OK to photograph Metra. Can't take any chances. I was photographing a BNSF Train with the Sgt detained me. I wasn't even photographing his railroad. BNSF should have detained me.

#143790  by MetraF40C607