Railroad Forums 

• Boston & Maine Engineering Records at Iron Horse Park?

• Guilford Rail System changed its name to Pan Am Railways in 2006. Discussion relating to the current operations of the Boston & Maine, the Maine Central, and the Springfield Terminal railroads (as well as the Delaware & Hudson while it was under Guilford control until 1988). Official site can be found here: PANAMRAILWAYS.COM.
Guilford Rail System changed its name to Pan Am Railways in 2006. Discussion relating to the current operations of the Boston & Maine, the Maine Central, and the Springfield Terminal railroads (as well as the Delaware & Hudson while it was under Guilford control until 1988). Official site can be found here: PANAMRAILWAYS.COM.

Moderator: MEC407

#1620734  by rrfanspud

I just joined the forum, although I have lurked anonymously a few times, both for work-related reasons and because I grew up near and love railroads. I have some fuzzy basic knowledge about the sequence of RR ownerships in eastern Mass, but it's been good to spend a few hours reading postings here to learn about the latest CSX acquisition of PAR and other events.

I now have a land survey project adjacent to the old Lexington Branch of the B & L/B & M/MBTA and am trying to learn whatever I can about past and current records. My job is to locate the sidelines of the ROW in one particular spot. This branch is now the (paved) Minuteman Bikeway and unfortunately the tracks have been torn up. Since the tracks on this branch are a possible basis for measurements to the sidelines of the ROW (according to location plans), I'm missing one way to get oriented in space. There are other ways to locate the sidelines, but the more confirmation I can get, the better.