Railroad Forums 

• Help with Walkaround Control for standard DC blocked layout

• Discussion related to everything about model railroading, from layout design and planning, to reviews of related model tools and equipment. Discussion includes O, S, HO, N and Z, as well as narrow gauge topics. Also includes discussion of traditional "toy train" and "collector" topics such as Lionel, American Flyer, Marx, and others. Also includes discussion of outdoor garden railways and live steamers.
Discussion related to everything about model railroading, from layout design and planning, to reviews of related model tools and equipment. Discussion includes O, S, HO, N and Z, as well as narrow gauge topics. Also includes discussion of traditional "toy train" and "collector" topics such as Lionel, American Flyer, Marx, and others. Also includes discussion of outdoor garden railways and live steamers.

Moderators: 3rdrail, stilson4283, Otto Vondrak

#762283  by Flat-Wheeler

I'm a single operator of another rather large layout that I'm constructing in an isolated area with few successful hobby shops (in fact, the new local Hobbytown store is the only new store to go dark and empty out within 4 months). I have maybe 20 locomotives, 10 cabeese, and 430 cars for variety, for use on a basically point-to-point switching layout to serve freight industry. No continuous loops. About 75 feet of mainline, a 12 ft long 9 track yard, and various industrial leads and a branch to more industry in another room. Although I may like to have up to 5 trains on the layout parked or staged here and there, I have no desire to move more than 2 at the same time (who honestly can, or wants to, switch out an industrial plant in one corner, while watching a mainline freight through the junction 24 ft away at the other corner? You'd have to have another set of eyes on the back of your head, and at least another arm.)