Railroad Forums 

• NS Management Promotion Question

• General discussion about working in the railroad industry. Industry employers are welcome to post openings here.
General discussion about working in the railroad industry. Industry employers are welcome to post openings here.

Moderator: thebigc

#460073  by musicmarine

I was wondering if someone could give me the scoop on what it takes to move from Conductor to Trainmaster. I have a bachlor's degree and I just got hired on as a conductor. I figure I should learn that job before worring about it, but just trying to look into the future. I would really like to move into management after a while.

Thanks!!

#460201  by jgallaway81

The NSMA... Norfolk Southern Management Assesment.

Just as a point to consider. They WILL NOT let you work as a manager in the area you worked as a train crew.

If you want to go the management route, look into it now before you get compfy with the train crew pay and stuff cause there is a true culture shock in changing ranks.

good luck.

#460227  by musicmarine

How do you mean culture shock? Is the pay drastically less as a manager. I noticed on the website that Management trainees start at 51,000 or so, should I expect to make more than that as train crew?

Thanks for the info.
Onsby Rose

#460293  by jgallaway81

Train crews can make more, yes. It all depends on how much you want to work.

#460301  by LCJ

The long-term earning potential for managers is greater by far.

#460392  by gp80mac

Just make sure you have room in your brain for the implant. Managers are salaried (with bonus potential), but also have no HOS. And they are even more tied to their phones than the ranks are.