Railroad Forums 

• LPG railyards

• General discussion about railroad operations, related facilities, maps, and other resources.
General discussion about railroad operations, related facilities, maps, and other resources.

Moderator: Robert Paniagua

#1116887  by GSteam

I'ma newbie here so I hope I am posting in the right spot. My question is that I am looking to find out more about how an LPG rail yard would work. Would each propane railyard tank be dedicated to a single gas distributor or could (would?) different gas distributors share the same railyard propane tank. That's what I am trying to understand. Any help would be appreciated.
 #1121273  by v8interceptor

I'm no Hank Hill (animated propane expert) but In many cases LPG tank cars are delivered directly to dealers' own rail sidings and unloaded directly into their on -site storage tanks.
The operation you seem to be asking about would most likely have one or more bulk storage tanks and the product would be loaded into trucks, either local delivery "bobtail" trucks or into larger tractor trailer units which then supply the dealers' own storage facilities. I doubt the various dealers would have seperate on -site storage at the bulk distribution rail terminal.
 #1122321  by GSteam

Thanks V8! Sounds like there are two different setups.

So for the bulk distribution rail terminal, I would think that distributors would be buying from specific wholesalers and they would not want their propane mixed with other distributors propane for Q/C reasons. That's why I was thinking separate tanks. I'm still not clear.