• Red Line tunnel dimensions Part Deux (II)

• Discussion relating to commuter rail, light rail, and subway operations of the MBTA.
Discussion relating to commuter rail, light rail, and subway operations of the MBTA.

Moderators: sery2831, CRail

by SP 4449

This is in response to those who thought my request for tunnel dimensions seems odd. To clear up any suspicions, here is an explination of my project and why I must do it. I go to Assabet Valley Technical High School. Instead of taking finals, our school requires us to do a senior project related to the field we are studying, as well as something we are interested in. The field I am studying is Drafting and I happen to like tunnels such as the Hoosac tunnel because they tie in with my hobby of railfanning. We must present our projects in front of teachers as well as people of industry to prove to them that we have actually learned aspects related to our trade during our tenure there. For my presentation, I am explaining about how different types of tunnels are constructed. I plan on making HO scale models of three types of tunnels, Mountainous, subway, and underwater. I also will include drawings showing the inside of the tunnels as well as the various aspects incorporated into their design. My interest in seeking these dimensions is to help me plan my models of the tunnels mentioned before. This project is crucial in that if I do not pass it, I will not graduate.

by CS

I am sorry that this happened... try www.nycsubway.org and look for the Boston section... I think I saw it there once. Good luck on your assignment.

by ckb

<soapbox>

I highly recommend that you visit the state transportation library.

http://www.stlibrary.org/

You may also want to try the Boston Public Library.