Railroad Forums 

• Advice Needed - NS M.OW Management Trainee offer

• Discussion relating to the NS operations. Official web site can be found here: NSCORP.COM.
Discussion relating to the NS operations. Official web site can be found here: NSCORP.COM.
 #1070119  by Krystian

Hey guys,

I am a recent college graduate seeking some advice from experienced railroaders that can give me an honest opinion about working in the rail industry. I have successfully passed the Norfolk Southern hiring process for the Maintenance of Way Management Trainee position. The job is offered to me. After doing a little bit of research I am surprised with the amount of negative feedback from the online community about the position! Seeing comments such as "you will never see you friends and family" , "you will work 12-14 hours a day" , "you will be getting calls at night" , "you will be hated by the labor force" have really started to question my view on the position and whether I should accept the offer...

Since graduating from college 2 months ago with a civil engineering degree I got an internship with a mid size general contractor in my area. The internship will turn into a permanent job, as I was recently told by the boss. I am happy with the current job, but I also have the urge to travel and work for a big company while I am young.

Can someone speaking from experience give me some honest feedback about the position offered to me, the company, and some advice ?
 #1080252  by Georgia Railroader