• Police to Railroad??...good move or not

• General discussion about working in the railroad industry. Industry employers are welcome to post openings here.
General discussion about working in the railroad industry. Industry employers are welcome to post openings here.

Moderator: thebigc

by upprospect

I am a 12 year veteran police officer. I make on average about 55,000 to 65,000 a year depending on how much extra duty i work. I work 12 hour shifts everday and the rotation is 5 days on 5 days off then 2 days on 2 days off. Rotate days to nights every month. Job security is not a problem but the politics have gotten ridiculous. I am considering a career change while i am still young enough. I am invited to a train crew hire session very soon. My question is this. I CAN NOT afford to have no job as bills are plentyfull and the new house notes comes regular. I am concerned about this furlough thing i keep hearing about. If i stay where i am at i will not make any more money throughout my next 10 years. I work probably on average 60 hours weekly to make what i do now. I am all about hard work and providing for the family. Should i take the train job ?? HELP
  by Gadfly