• New Rule 562 Cab Signals on The RRD Mainline

• Discussion relating to Southeastern Pennsylvania Transportation Authority (Philadelphia Metro Area). Official web site can be found here: www.septa.com. Also including discussion related to the PATCO Speedline rapid transit operated by Delaware River Port Authority. Official web site can be found here: http://www.ridepatco.org/.
Discussion relating to Southeastern Pennsylvania Transportation Authority (Philadelphia Metro Area). Official web site can be found here: www.septa.com. Also including discussion related to the PATCO Speedline rapid transit operated by Delaware River Port Authority. Official web site can be found here: http://www.ridepatco.org/.

Moderator: AlexC

by BuddSilverliner269

Hello Everyone, Im an engineer on the railroad and I really have to say I hate the new cab signals on the mainline from Wayne Jct to Jenkin but soon to be all the way up to Dale and from what Im gathering eventually the entire Reading side. Rule 562 is Cab signals with no waysides except at interlockings. I love cab signals but not the way Septa has the system done up. You could be cruising along at track speed from jenkin to Fern Rock with no stops and then all of a sudden north of Melrose Park yuor cabs drop from a clear to approach meduim because you dont have the signal at Tabor Jct. Tabor jct is the interlocking at the north end of Fer Rock Station. After you throw on your brakes to suppress the penalty then all of a sudden the cabs come back up. Ok now you knock off the brakes and try to pick up speed again and your on the straightaway into Fern Rock and your cabs drop again because you dont have the signal at Newtown JUNKshun.The cabs stay at approach medium until you come in to Fern rock station. The problem is the new dispatching center. It was designed to be automatic. The signals and routes get lined up automatically without the dispatchers assistance. All they would have to do is talk to you on the radio and issue