• Why not make more PCCs?

• General discussion of passenger rail systems not otherwise covered in the specific forums in this category, including high speed rail.
General discussion of passenger rail systems not otherwise covered in the specific forums in this category, including high speed rail.

Moderators: mtuandrew, gprimr1

by jboutiet

First of all, I want to say that I've been following these forums for a long time (longer than my join date shows), and I've enjoyed the conversations and the insights, even though I haven't had much to contribute. I'm an amateur T buff... I don't know a lot of the technical details, but I enjoy riding the lines and reading about them here.

I've been wanting to ask this for a while... it seems like the PCCs were the perfect trolley car. They don't require much maintenance, they have a very simple shell, they have simple and universal parts (although I'm sure the parts are getting harder to come by), they're durable, and the fleet we have has been around for a long, long time. So why don't we keep making PCCs? Why bother designing the Boeings and the Type 7s and Type 8s? The only hitch I see is ADA, but there's got to be another way to meet that , with ramps or high platforms, or a minor car modification. I'm not sure I understand what else the newer designs buy us, other than style and maybe speed.
  by RailBus63

I’ve always considered the Type 7 to be a lot like the PCC car – it was a basic design using proven components. Unfortunately, the lessons learned by the generation of MBTA managers who had to live through the early years of the Boeing fiasco was lost on those in T management who approved the Breda Type 8 design.
  by jaymac

jboutiet-