Discussion related to commuter rail and rapid transit operations in the Chicago area including the South Shore Line, Metra Rail, and Chicago Transit Authority.

Moderators: metraRI, JamesT4

by TheGortex

Don't yell at me, I'm still a novice at being a Metra railfan (I really only took a REAL interest in Metra a few months ago), but what happened to all of the flat sided coaches? The orange and brown ones, or the blue/orange striped ones? Is there anywhere I could get a glimpse of them?

by byte

Replaced! Aside from the one single-level private car, they've all been succeeded either directly or indirectly by new Nippon-Sharyo corrugated-stainless bilevels. You can still *see* them in a few equipment dealer yards in the area, but if you actually want to ride one, IRM has a very nice three car set that's been repainted into C&NW colors, complete with matching F7.

by TheGortex

Thanks. Where are some of the yards they are kept at? The RTA orange/brown ones weren't the most pleasing to the eye, but I liked the orange and blue ones.

by MetraRy

There still is one in the back of the california ave coach yard. just ride any up-w line train on the weekend and you will be able to see it
  by TheGortex

Which kind of flat side is it?

by byte

I think there's a yard in Joliet somewhere where one of the equipment dealers has put them. Some of these cars have had their window bands painted red, but they're still pretty obviously the same cars. Also, didn't one of the suburbs purchase just one for its fire department? There was a fairly lengthy discussion here about this "mystery bilevel" that was parked on a disconnected piece of track with a freight car. That might still be there, if anyone remembers where it was.
  by F40CFan

TheGortex wrote:Which kind of flat side is it?
It looks like one of the cars built by St. Louis Car Co.

by PRRGuy