• Travel To NYC ....Amtrak or Bus

• Discussion related to Amtrak also known as the National Railroad Passenger Corp.
Discussion related to Amtrak also known as the National Railroad Passenger Corp.

Moderators: GirlOnTheTrain, mtuandrew, Tadman

by GP40MC 1116

I had a question to see if anyone could help me out. I am planning on going to NYC in the next 2 weeks or so so that I can get some information on a college project with the FDNY..mostly 3 Truck in Manhattan. Since im a poor college student..lol I want to keep the transportation far (bus or train) and 1 nights hotel..Below 150.. Can anyone help me out on this

by fairlane57

You're asking train people?

Ok, since I take it you're from New Hampshire, then the Vermonter or Ethan Allen might be your best choice. Both trains take you into the heart of Manhattan (Penn station). Check amtrak.com for fares. As for the bus, you arrive at the zoo called Port Authority Bus terminal, you get what you pay for.

by JoeG

I can't tell exactly where you'd be boarding Amtrak from your post. Whether Amtrak or a bus is cheaper, you'd have to look on the web. If you do take a train, you might look to see if it would save you any money to take Amtrak to New Haven and then take Metro North to New York City. Incidentally, the Port Authority Bus Terminal has been cleaned up and is no longer a zoo.
Your biggest problem will be a cheap hotel in NYC. Here's a link to a webpage of hostels. The one on Amsterdam Ave (about 103 st) is cheap and decent. I don't know if they have vacancies. You don't say when you are traveling. Here's the link:
Hostels in New York City

by CSX Conductor

I would suggest rail, but keeping in mind your tight budget, bus is probably cheaper. Like the last post said, it's true, you do "get what you pay for".