Discussion relating to the operations of MTA MetroNorth Railroad including west of Hudson operations and discussion of CtDOT sponsored rail operations such as Shore Line East and the Springfield to New Haven Hartford Line

Moderators: GirlOnTheTrain, nomis, FL9AC, Jeff Smith

by nightsky

I am new to trains. We didn't have them (as a way to commute) in the midwest like I have them here in the northeast. I am going to start taking the metronorth to New Haven, but have no idea what transportation is around at the station. Do taxis hang out there? Is there a bus? Can I take a bike on the train and ride to my office? Is the area even safe to walk in?
  by davidp

Nightsky,

I don't have an answer to your question but would suggest you post it on the MTA/Metro-North forum as this page is pretty much an historical discussion of the old New York, New Haven and Hartford RR which has been gone for forty years.

Regarding rail commuting in the Midwest, I guess you're coming to us from somewhere other than Chicago :-)
  by charlie6017

Moved to MTA/Metro North! ;-)
  by TomNelligan

There are plenty of taxis at New Haven station, and frequent Connecticut Transit buses to the Green with connections throughout the city. As for the neighborhood, there's a housing project across the street, but the New Haven police station is across the street too. Late-night walking might be an issue but I've never felt uncomfortable around there during the day.

State Street station, to the east, is basically just platforms. No taxis and far fewer trains, but you're closer to the downtown business district if that's where you're headed.
  by mfd1225

Plenty of cabs and CT Transit buses right out in front of the station (Union Station). As for bikes on the trains, off peak trains accept bikes. Check out the MTA website for bike pass information. I think it is something like $5 for a year or longer.
  by The Interloafer