• Steam shoots out and why?

• Discussion of steam locomotives from all manufacturers and railroads
Discussion of steam locomotives from all manufacturers and railroads

Moderators: Typewriters, slide rules

by Rail-Gun

Hello once agian im rather new to the hobby of collecting steam locomotives. I have read a couple books so far on them but there are a few questions that have not been answered, so i figured i would ask the experts. When an steam train starts up why does it blow all that steam out of the cylinders, wouldnt it be loosing power? Sames goes for when it slows down or stops. Why does it blow steam out of the safety valve on the top of the boiler and also out the cylinders when slowing down, staring up or stopping. Help on this would be greatly appreciated thanks agian!
  by slide rules

The steam you see coming out from the cylinders is actually controlled by the engineer, via what are called the "cylinder cocks". These are ports in the cylinder that can be opened to allow steam and/or water to escape, and the reason you would want to provide them is simple. When starting, a locomotive's cylinders are relatively cool compared to the incoming steam, and water, liquid water, will condense out in the cylinders. These cylinder cocks allow the liquid water, along with some steam of course, to escape, preventing the cylinder heads from damage or being blown off, as liquid water does not compress!

By the way, welcome to the forum and to the very rewarding hobby of locomotion! I hope this answered your question!

David A. Davis
  by Rail-Gun

I see!!! That makes alot sense. Thank you for your reply and your right it an awsome hobby and very addictive. Thanks agian for explaining this to me and Happy New Year! :)
  by Ken W2KB