• Railroad Cops

• General discussion about railroad operations, related facilities, maps, and other resources.
General discussion about railroad operations, related facilities, maps, and other resources.

Moderator: Robert Paniagua

by gprimr1

I have been getting alot of informative helpful replies about being a conductor and engineer and it's given me alot to think about but I was also thinking:

My major is criminal justice, what if I became like a CSX or Amtrak cop?

I apperciate everyone's experiences that they have shared.

by GOLDEN-ARM

Lot's of roads are hiring "Cinder Dicks", as railroad cops are known as. (also "Bulls") Try the links, to railroads at the bottom of the RRB.Gov, in the jobs section, and see the roads that are hiring officers, and at what locations. Amtrak seems to always be hiring, and the class 1's are loading up, as well. Regards.
http://rrb.gov/PandS/Jobs/rrjobs.asp

by Steve F45

I'de love to get hired by csx/ns. But they only want certified out of the academy guys or retiree's. They dont put anyone thru the academy, well up here in nj they dont. Amtrak from what i've heard is a horrible department to work for, no contract for several years, low morale. NJT is a good dept, but they just had there test and physical (passed both :-D ) CSX/NS may hire differently in other parts of the county but here if your not ptc already, dont bother applying.

by GOLDEN-ARM

Most community colleges will offer a law enforcement training course. My hometown, of Ft. Pierce, Fla., will pay for you to go through training, in exchange for a one year commitment to work for them. Once you are accredited, and become a "real" cop, RR police work is just a job interview away............ :wink:

by LandDownUnder

Was going to post a new query, but noticed this one at the bottom of the page.

I'm curious as to how the jurisdiction of legal authority works with a Railroad Employed Police officer. Really in general, how Police authority works in this country :P