• New to NJT: Zones, Monthly Pass - Seeking Info

• Discussion related to New Jersey Transit rail and light rail operations.
Discussion related to New Jersey Transit rail and light rail operations.

Moderators: lensovet, Kaback9, nick11a

by nsk

Hello All:

I am new to NJT and I recently purchased a monthly rail pass to Ridgewood (from NYP - 9 Zone; cost $218).

I would appreciate it very much if some one could explain more about zone systems and/or point to URLs with such info (after searching for more than an hour the only info I could find was on this web site in response to queries from other users!)

a) Can I use the monthly rail pass on NJ Transit buses? How do I determine appropriate usage?
b) Can I use the monthly rail pass (NYP-Ridgewood) on other rail lines? The information on an earlier thread on Glen Rock was very useful. However, to really understand the posting it seems that I need to know what the zones are all about... leading to my next question...
c) How do I find out about the zones used by NJT?

Thanks in advance for helping out a newbie...
  by kdjohnson

Hi,

Here is a couple of answers to your questions about the Monthly Rail Pass and using the bus.

Yes, you can use your monthly pass on NJ Transit Buses. The 9 Zones on your Rail pass indicate how many zones you can travel on an NJT Bus. NJT Bus operations uses zones to determine how much a fare will cost and it is based on distance travelled. Transit introduced this flexibility some years ago and eliminated feeder fares which had to be paid in addition to showing a bus operator your rail pass.

You can consult a NJT Bus Timetable on the NJT website at www.njtransit.com. Also more information about Bus fare zones can be obtained from the site as well.

For the most part I noticed that the website can be a little confusing it is best to look at the timetables for information. :-D

Ken

[/quote]
  by Ken W2KB