• MOM Rail Service

• Discussion related to New Jersey Transit rail and light rail operations.
Discussion related to New Jersey Transit rail and light rail operations.

Moderators: lensovet, Kaback9, nick11a

by cruiser939

Pennsyjohn wrote:
Tom V wrote:
I would bet that you, Mr. remove the market, are a new person in the area, came from New York or somewhere like that and have a NIMBY attitude.
Let's go up towards where the line comes from Freehold, say by the Iron Mountain building and build there.
All we lose then is part of the Sod Farm.
I've lived in Marlboro, Manalapan and now Freehold since 1977, the Englishtown auction only attracted New Yorkers or groups from Newark. Locals were mostly kids looking to buy knives, Cigarettes and other stuff their not supposed to have. I know because I was one of those kids. As for the Collingswood auction, I used to work for the Trial Court Administrators office Freehold Vicinage when I graduated College. I can tell you of some crazy trials for crimes that were committed at the Collingswoood auction, kidnapping, extortion, robberies etc.. Mostly committed by gang members from Red Bank and Asbury Park.

The Market could easily be moved elsewhere (move it to the Wall Race Track), the huge parking lot off Rt 33/34 adjacent to the rail line is more valuable. The intersection of 33/34 needs to be redone anyway, to offer an West bound exit from 34-33. They could easily add an over pass/under pass to access the station.
SO, you've lived in the area since 1977. Wow, what a long time. I've lived in the area since 1963, and I was going to Collingswood since 1956. It is a fascinating place. As to your argument for tearing it down (criminal activity) same argument goes for say, Freehold Boro, or township. It seems that working for the Trial Court Administrators office actually means you don't get to see criminals, huh?