• help with layout idea

• Discussion related to everything about model railroading, from layout design and planning, to reviews of related model tools and equipment. Discussion includes O, S, HO, N and Z, as well as narrow gauge topics. Also includes discussion of traditional "toy train" and "collector" topics such as Lionel, American Flyer, Marx, and others. Also includes discussion of outdoor garden railways and live steamers.
Discussion related to everything about model railroading, from layout design and planning, to reviews of related model tools and equipment. Discussion includes O, S, HO, N and Z, as well as narrow gauge topics. Also includes discussion of traditional "toy train" and "collector" topics such as Lionel, American Flyer, Marx, and others. Also includes discussion of outdoor garden railways and live steamers.

Moderators: 3rdrail, stilson4283, Otto Vondrak

by bncsx

Hi N Scalers,
I need your advice/input. I am new to the hobby and I am just about ready to build a layout, (I have a small one now) I have been buying stuff for years, and I finally have the room (34" x 96") the problem is, I cant seem to come up with a layout idea. I was wondering if layout design software would help, and if anyone out there has used it, and could steer me towards an easy to use/understand name ?
I have deisel, circa 1980's through mid 90's . And will run 90% freight .
I read where modellers like to pick a certain road and area and model after that, but I was thinking about trying my own ficticious road. I look forward to your answers and opinions.
Thanks !!
BNCSX :)

by John_Perkowski

I like Model Railroader Magazine's theme:

MODEL RAILROADING IS FUN.

Implied in that theme is you have choice... prototype or fiction, passenger or freight, however you want to play.

8' by not quite 3' ... is that your room footprint, or your layout footprint?