• Hassled at NHP for WATCHING!

• Discussion of the past and present operations of the Long Island Rail Road.
Discussion of the past and present operations of the Long Island Rail Road.

Moderator: Liquidcamphor

by arcingcatenary

After being hassled at Mineola twice in 2 weeks,I decided to go to New Hyde Park for the Afternoon rush.I did not have my camera wth me as my battery was recharging.I am standing on the platform at NHP for about 1 hour,when to my suprise I am approached by 2 MTA cops.They first ask me if I have a ticket,I did not.They ask me why have been standing on the platform letting 2 tains that made station stops,go without me boarding them.I told them that I was just watching trains.Tey asked me where I live,I told them Queens,they said why dont I stay in Queens.I told them that I have been coming out here since the 1970s,thy both scoffed at that,and told me I was loitering,and that they were going to give me a ticket
I said "go ahead,do what you have to do"The one nastier of the 2 said "who the F--K do you think you are talking to?"I said in a very stern voice,"I am watching the trains,I am not breaking any laws,nor am I impeding any passengers from thier destination,you come along and for no reason decide to harass me for WATCHING the trains,As I just said,if you want to give me a ticket,go ahead"With that,his calmer partner pulled him aside,they spoke for a few minutes,then the calmer one came over to talk to me and told me that they had gotten a call from "a concerned passenger" and he went into the whole 9-11 speil.I told him,that I have been stopped for taking pictures before,and now to be stopped just for watching? He said that some people are nervous and they had to answer the call.