• Engineers likes, Dislikes and trouble shooting on Loco's

• General discussion about locomotives, rolling stock, and equipment
General discussion about locomotives, rolling stock, and equipment

Moderator: John_Perkowski

by SKMD01

I am trying to compile a database on Locomotives of what engineers like and dislike on both EMD and GE's. I know the vast majority of Engineers out there are not on forums like this but i know there are some. At least that's a start. I have been an engineer for 7 years and have my own lists, but was curious about what others think. Also, any trouble shooting tips you may have for common problems such as computer issues. The trouble shooting tips may end up in a book. The likes and dislikes on the different brands of loco's may end up being used on future orders to hopefully come up with better cab layouts and features.

My likes:

GE headlight switches vs EMD headlight switches. I hate the way on EMD's you have to fight a heavy spring and actually pass the marked point. On older units where the switches are worn they get hung up.

EMD Older style wide body cab windows offered much better visibility. I dislike the GE style windows they use now.

ALL the new widebodies (both brands) load like crap. Why has technology gone backwards? I understand it has alot to do with traction control, but an SD40-2 in my opinion is MUCH easier to run then any of these AC's

by jg greenwood

Why is it that almost all of the newer GE's have windows that are impossible to latch? The mechanisms are in dire need of attention.

by SKMD01

I also cannot figure out why on the SD70ACe's they put virtually all the breakers in the electrical room. I understand it makes it easier on maintence personell, but now as an engineer, i need to actually go outside the locomotive into a room where the walls are literally COVERED in exposed electrical contacts and cable ends.