• DPU in Texas

• Discussion about the Union Pacific operations past and present. Official site can be found here: UPRR.COM.
Discussion about the Union Pacific operations past and present. Official site can be found here: UPRR.COM.

Moderator: GOLDEN-ARM

by UPRR engineer

I DP'd the OWVBT for the first time the other day at the mine, a soda ash train headed for Beaumont. Before i hit town someone in Omaha saw it and started throwing a fit saying they couldnt take it at port like that and the crews down there didnt know how to run them yet. Along with CMTS, Texas that far behind the rest of us still? I made the morning call with the super once again and he thinks its a good idea so now there all going to be built that way. If they start teaching DP down there now you can thank me. :-D
  by GOLDEN-ARM

I'm not so sure about that, UP. I was a DP Peer trainer, in Houston, for the HPL coal trains. In my time there, every engineer on the LS-372 road boards were qualified to run them. We ran them from Hearne, to the power plant, then returned them, as soon as they were emptied. Every engineer there, in road service had the full set of DP manuals, and "cheater" cards, to carry. I think it's more like someone outside of the "coal corrider" don't understand that the rest of the railroad is right there with them, knowledge wise. Of course, things could have drastically changed, from 2002, when I left....... :wink:
  by resauto