• CharlieCard / Ticket discussion

• Discussion relating to commuter rail, light rail, and subway operations of the MBTA.
Discussion relating to commuter rail, light rail, and subway operations of the MBTA.

Moderators: sery2831, CRail

by saulblum

The passes page includes the following disclaimer (boding mine).

Commuter Rail Zone Passes are delivered on a CharlieCard, while supplies last. Interzone Passes are delivered on a CharlieTicket.
  by BlueFreak

saulblum wrote:The passes page includes the following disclaimer (boding mine).

Commuter Rail Zone Passes are delivered on a CharlieCard, while supplies last. Interzone Passes are delivered on a CharlieTicket.
I only assume they put that there to protect them in case they run out of pre-printed passes. I've been buying my zone 6 pass via the website for several years, and I've never not received a pre-printed pass.

Actually, the only time I've ever seen them run out was the month that they mis-coded all of the pre-printed passes, and had to exchange them for good ones. By the time I did so at the South Station ticket office, they had run out of zone 6 pre-printed passes, so the agent just gave me a zone 7 pass.
  by saulblum

BlueFreak wrote:I only assume they put that there to protect them in case they run out of pre-printed passes. I've been buying my zone 6 pass via the website for several years, and I've never not received a pre-printed pass.
Except these are the new disposable CharlieCards with a pass printed on the back. You know, the hacked solution to bring Charlie to the commuter rail. And now that we have this "solution" there will be absolutely no motivation to ever introduce electronic fare payment on the commuter rail.
  by octr202

BlueFreak wrote:
saulblum wrote:The passes page includes the following disclaimer (boding mine).