Discussion related to commuter rail and rapid transit operations in the Chicago area including the South Shore Line, Metra Rail, and Chicago Transit Authority.

Moderators: metraRI, JamesT4

by MACTRAXX

Guys: My name is MACTRAXX and I am new to RR.NET. I have been interested in CTA operations since the 70s. I always liked the operation of the Skokie Swift - Now with the removal of catenary lines is there a market for thru operation to the LOOP? I can picture the CTA having a printed timetable clearly marked as there was one for the thru Evanston Express trains. I know that track slots and logistics can be worked out to allow this. It would be a limited service of maybe 2 trains per hour at first with expansion to more if there is a demand. These trains would stop at the same limited stops as the EE trains - go around the Loop and then back to Skokie. Any opinions? MACTRAXX

by F40CFan

You may or may not be aware of this site, but

www.chicago-l.org

is excellent.

Under the "tranisit plans" link, there is another link called "Circle Line Plan". This shows possible future reroutings, such as creating a "Ravenswood-Douglas" through routing. I don't think it mentions anything about the "Swift", though.

by MACTRAXX

F40c: I am VERY aware of Chicago-L.org - Graham Garfield's site. It is arguably one of the best transit sites around! It is one way I keep up on what is going on on the CTA. In your opinion can this service work? MACTRAXX

by F40CFan

I think there's probably too much traffic already. It would be nice, though.
  by MACTRAXX

Everyone:

When I joined Railroad.net ten years ago this was my first new topic in the Chicagoland Forum...

I noted the recent Evanston Express expanded service mentioned and wonder if the CTA has ever considered
operating a limited group of weekday rush-hour trains from Dempster Terminal down to the Loop - I am thinking
a total of four trains in each peak period running about 30 minutes apart which would stop at Howard primarily