• Put confront-them-back strategy on photography to the test

• Discussion related to DC area passenger rail services from Northern Virginia to Baltimore, MD. Includes Light Rail and Baltimore Subway.
Discussion related to DC area passenger rail services from Northern Virginia to Baltimore, MD. Includes Light Rail and Baltimore Subway.

Moderators: mtuandrew, therock, Robert Paniagua

by SchuminWeb

I was on a railfan outing with a friend on the Orange Line on Saturday, and got confronted about photography at Virginia Square station. Apparently the station manager wet his pants over my camera when I was taking photos from the mezzanine. We went out to the street to get canopy and street pylon photos, and coming back in, an employee wearing a dark blue WMATA polo shirt with a second logo on it that I'd never seen before stopped us at the faregates to ask if I was a professional photographer. I explained that amateur photography is not regulated under Metro's current rules, and no tripods. He said that I need to ask the station manager before taking photos in the system. I said "sure", while thinking, whatever, because I knew it was unenforceable.