• Photographers vs. Police: We meet again...

• Discussion related to New Jersey Transit rail and light rail operations.
Discussion related to New Jersey Transit rail and light rail operations.

Moderators: lensovet, Kaback9, nick11a

by Patrick Boylan

A non NJT unnecessary step example I still like to trot out once in a while is the post 9-11 traffic arrangement around 30th St station. Automobiles may no longer go through the west and east side porticoes, they must loop around, and so passengers get out of their cars without a portico roof above them, and must walk further to get into the station.
However after having made that detour on the west side, and before making that detour on the east side, automobiles go back to the prior route under the upper level tracks right up against the station wall. I'm no bomb expert, and I hope I never need to be, but I think a car bomb would do more damage if set off in that confined area where the authorities still allow automobiles than it would in the relatively open area where they've banned automobiles.

My solution of course is to encourage more folks to use the subway and regional rail to get to 30th St :)

By the way, I don't see any reason why this thread's in the NJT forum. Is there anyone who think this potential problem's unique to New Jersey?
  by Jtgshu

Thanks Mr. Mitchell, but all I posted was COMMON SENSE. Something that seems to be lacking in today's world.

I speak from experience, also from both sides of the fence. Ive been trackside and had the PD roll up.

"hey how you doing officer"
"what are you guys doing here?"
"waiting and watching the trains go by and taking some pics"
"oh okay, be careful" OR "oh, well you can't be here, pack it up and move along" -