• Pan Am Phase II Dark Blue Paint

• Guilford Rail System changed its name to Pan Am Railways in 2006. Discussion relating to the current operations of the Boston & Maine, the Maine Central, and the Springfield Terminal railroads (as well as the Delaware & Hudson while it was under Guilford control until 1988). Official site can be found here: PANAMRAILWAYS.COM.
Guilford Rail System changed its name to Pan Am Railways in 2006. Discussion relating to the current operations of the Boston & Maine, the Maine Central, and the Springfield Terminal railroads (as well as the Delaware & Hudson while it was under Guilford control until 1988). Official site can be found here: PANAMRAILWAYS.COM.

Moderator: MEC407

by wseamo1

Hi everyone,

I'm a researcher for M.T.H. Electric Trains and we're working on the Pan Am GP-40 in the dark blue paint. I've read this color is
very similar to Missouri Pacific blue. Is this accurate? If anyone has any information on this color, please email me
at: [email protected]

Take care,

Bill
  by guilfordrailfan

Pan Am dark blue is a custom color, so there is no other railroad color that is an exact match. It is a VERY dark shade of blue and I'm pretty sure is actually a little darker than MoPac blue. I believe Santa Fe dark blue is a fairly close match.
  by Hux

wseamo1 wrote:Hi everyone,

I'm a researcher for M.T.H. Electric Trains and we're working on the Pan Am GP-40 in the dark blue paint. I've read this color is
very similar to Missouri Pacific blue. Is this accurate? If anyone has any information on this color, please email me
at: [email protected]

Take care,

Bill
Why not contact the fine folks at the Waterville shop and get the exact color mixture, or get a sample.
  by KSmitty

In the past someone on here has said that while the paint may look like MoPac, the cans actually come labeled "Santa Fe Blue"
  by bmcdr