• Lackawanna Cutoff Passenger Service Restoration

• Discussion related to New Jersey Transit rail and light rail operations.
Discussion related to New Jersey Transit rail and light rail operations.

Moderators: lensovet, Kaback9, nick11a

by nyswfan

CNJ Fan 4evr wrote:I'll have to agree with the last post. 80 sucks! Plain English. I hated when I was a delivery driver and my route included 80. If you weren't past Rte 15 by 6 am forget it. You crawled from there to 287. I won't even get into 209 out of Marshalls Creek to I-80. Going west on a Friday night? Pack a dinner, it will be loooonnnngggg wait.How is a bus going to be faster than the train sitting in the same mess as everyone else?
I don't believe the train would be longer,even with stops.Truthfully, how many extra stops would there be? Scranton,Mt. Pocono, Stroudsburg OR Water Gap, Blairstown, Andover.For the amount of riders using Lake Hopatcong, I could see NJT eliminating that stop anyway. Seems like a ghost stop since Mt. Arlington opened. How long does train stop anyway ? Maybe under 2 minutes if they hold to the schedules. That is about 10 minutes of stopping. Lot more than that on 80 I guarantee.
The fastest AM express train from Dover into NYP has an advertised ride time of 79 minutes. Looking into old Lackawanna timetables from before the cutoff was single tracked, Scranton to Dover advertised ride time for the 95 mile trip was 132 min making 4 stops in between the two. 132+79=211=3.5 hours each way on the train. The Martz bus advertises 2:45 in the AM 2:20 in the PM.
  by Fan Railer

nyswfan wrote: